A New Blog

I have been thinking about starting a blog for a little while now.  I have been reading some other blogs by preemie moms and it seems like it could be so therapeutic.  Sometimes even just my replies to a post helps me get some of my feelings out when I write about whatever the topic is and I feel like I could go on much longer on many other tangents.

I wish I would have understood more about blogs earlier in our journey as it seems they are a nice support system also and a way to journal all of those things you might forget about later on.  Maybe I would have kept better track of his nurses names… one thing I really am annoyed with myself about lately.  Also it will give me something a little more productive to do while I am pumping than playing World of Warcraft or browsing Facebook for the 100th time today.

I am excited to have a place to put down Xander’s birth story. I did make sure to write it down a few weeks into the NICU stay so I had it somewhere but after reading it recently it ended just after he was born and I felt like there was so much more to the story after that, I shouldn’t have stopped there.

We didn’t have a CaringBridge site when Xander was born. When I reflect on that now I think we probably should have had one but in my opinion he wasn’t “sick” enough to warrant a CB site. He was just early and tiny not sick (I am glad i was so naive about it all at the time I tend to look for the positive side of things and maybe that’s how I was able to hold it together most of the time). I did all of my updates through Facebook which worked ok but I may have gotten a little more widespread support if I had done a CB site.  I just didn’t want to manage another thing at that time.

I don’t know how often I will post in this blog, or how long I will keep it up.  But at least I know that I have a place to go when I need to write about something to process my feelings especially as new challenges arise.

And I know I am not a terrific writer, I usually just do a massive brain dump in a jumbled mess that makes sense when I am thinking it but not when it gets typed out so I apologize in advance.

I'm sitting up Mommy!Here is a photo I got of Xander today from daycare. She likes to send photos of when he hits milestones at daycare.  This was “I’m sitting up Mommy!”  His breathing sounded a little better tonight but he still has an icky cough.

2 thoughts on “A New Blog

Leave a Reply

