Oh Happy Day!

I was sarcastically IMing a co-worker at work “Oh Happy Day” yesterday with the song Oh Happy Day from Sister Act II in my head.  Work can be so painful lately.  I don’t exactly enjoy what I do there pretty much since I was hired for my current position.  I enjoy some aspects of the job, and a lot of the people, but after having Xander my perspective has really changed.  I used to love making maps and maintaining accurate data to help decision makers to make more informed decisions that help the well-being of the people of our County.  I don’t want to say much more about work specifically but it is somewhat depressing to work there now, there is not much to be happy about these days.

I have a new dream, I don’t know if it will ever come true but I would love to go back to school to become a NICU nurse.  I know it wouldn’t be easy, and not everyone ends up with a good ending like we did, but I know it would be a very rewarding job.  I was never a baby fanatic when I was younger. As the baby of my family with 5 kids, I was more uncomfortable around babies than anything else.  But the NICU experience, and being older, I have a huge appreciation for what these babies go through and how strong they are.  I would love to be able to be a part of the amazing things they do in the NICU and be able to help take care of someone else’s baby and family like some of the nurses took care of us.  I realized early on that these are special nurses, they not only have their tiny patient, but also parents to educate on the care of the baby, and über emotional hormonal moms and bewildered dads to comfort and support through their journey.

I was able to hold my friend’s baby the other day, 7 weeks old and 7.5 lbs.  She was so tiny!  I know I have held smaller, but it has been a long time since Xander was under 8 lbs.  Even this full term baby amazes me now, they still have to learn how to eat, keep breathing (I think every mom is terrified of SIDS), and even regulate body temperature.  They may have hit milestones in the womb that weren’t celebrated like a NICU baby’s but are just as wonderful.

I am thankful every day for our NICU nurses and their expertise and being there for the babies and parents.

Couldn't wait to put on his It's A Preemie Thing shirt!

Couldn’t wait to put on his It’s A Preemie Thing shirt! Once Tiny Always Strong!

Parent's of Preemies Day, I Love my preemie!

Parent’s of Preemies Day, I Love my preemie!

I'm ready to go to the meeting mama

I’m ready to go to the meeting mama

One thought on “Oh Happy Day!

  1. Oh – yes! Follow your dream, Jody! I’ve actually thought about becoming a NICU nurse also, but I’m not sure I could handle the bad days. It really takes a special heart to do the job and I’m so thankful for the people who do it every day! Do IT! 🙂 It was so awesome meeting you in person at the Parents of Preemies Day event. I’m really looking forward to our springtime walks…

Leave a Reply

