Words Words and more Words!

Since Xander started walking (at 18 months +1 week), about a month later he started having words!  Just four at first but then a week later he had about 8 and now only a couple months later he has at least 60-70!  He seems to have one or two new words a day.  I don’t understand them all sometimes, and he still uses some sign language but I think he is very happy with himself being able to communicate through words.  He is like a little parrot and it’s so fun!

I think his favorite word right now is “cupcake”. He saw an Arthur episode where a class made and decorated cupcakes to sell and they would give the profits to an animal shelter (I think, I wasn’t watching that closely) and after that he kept saying “cupcake”.  We had some of the Vanilla Cupcake Goldfish Grahams and the next few mornings he would ask for “cupcake” meaning the Goldfish Grahams, and he has recently come to like Bubble Guppies (thanks cousin Trevor!) and he will sing “bub bub bub CUPCAKE!”

Daycare helped me figure out one of the words I didn’t understand and I thought it was funny.  It sounds like he’s saying BO as in body odor “bee-o”. I could not for the life of me figure it out. I didn’t think he knew what BO was so I thought maybe he was trying to say phew/PU/”pee-you”.  It was at least a couple weeks of confusion before we got to daycare one day and he said “bee-o” when we got there.  I tried interpreting my phew back to him and our provider said: “Oh no Honey, that’s “Bill”.  Lightbulb!  Her husband’s name is Bill and he helps out during the day between his bus routes.  All the kids get so excited and say Mr Bill, Mr Bill when he gets there.  This is one of the few people names Xander has, most of the names he says are of animals (see how we rate? lol).

Bebi(Levi) is probably his favorite pet currently, he’s the cat at daycare.  I think Minnie comes in second, Minnie is my sister’s mini dachshund. And Maaaa-ie (Maggie), the dog at daycare, has lost popularity to Minnie.

Xander’s development has been so amazing lately and he is really getting more independant and showing signs of the Terrible Twos! And I think he is on one big growth spurt, it seems like we just got into the 12 month clothes and some of them are getting a little tight or even small!  This may be the most quickly we’ve ever gone through any size of clothing thus far. 

Favorite Mom memory right now is Xander’s “Angry” face.  Since he’s getting into more trouble lately I’ve most likely been giving him an upset/angry at his behavior face, and he has been using his own right back!  I can’t help but laugh, it is so adorable.  We have been so blessed with this adorable little man.

Eating puff corn with mom.

Eating puff corn with mom.

We have a climber... when he is tall enough to get up on it!

We have a climber… when he is tall enough to get up on it!

There is a fascination with the elliptical.

There is a fascination with the elliptical.

When did he become a teenager!?!?! Cell phone addict already.

When did he become a teenager!?!?! Cell phone addict already.

He is watching me take a photo of him on my cell phone screen.

He is watching me take a photo of him on my cell phone screen.

New pasttime: Walking around with a hat or blanket covering his face so he can't see where he is going.

New pasttime: Walking around with a hat or blanket covering his face so he can’t see where he is going.

He can use a spoon! (Something on the Follow Along Program survey we had to say "no" to last time. Now we can say yes!)

He can use a spoon! (Something on the Follow Along Program survey we had to say “no” to last time. Now we can say yes!)

Leave a Reply

